Chief delegates meeting

April 28th 2011, Ras Al Khaimah, 12h - 13h

17th World Micromachine Summit 26th - 29th April 2011, Ras Al Khaimah focus: MNT for Renewable Energy

Minutes of the decisions

Participants:

Benelux: Prof. Albert van den Berg

China: Prof Zhaoying Zhou Emirates: Dr. Hamid Kayal

European Commission: Prof. Augusto De Albuquerque France: Dr. Chantal Khan-Malek and Prof. Nicolas Chaillet

Germany: Dr. Uwe Kleinke Iberian: Dr. Carles Cané Italy: Prof. Paolo Dario Japan: Prof. Isao Shimoyama Korea: Prof. Jun-Bo Yoon Nordic: Prof. Per Ohlckers Romania: Prof. Dan Dascalu

South America: Prof. Jacobus Swart Switzerland: Mr. Philippe Fischer Taiwan: Prof. Weileun Fang United Kingdom: Prof. Ron Lawes

USA: Dr. Michael Gaitan

Following decisions have been taken during the meeting

- The Summit should end with a **Conclusion Statement** which can be published
- UEA delegation becomes Middle East delegation, which includes Saudi Arabia
- South America delegation becomes Latin America delegation, which includes Mexico
- Australia, Canada and Singapore should be part of the next summits again
- Keep a **participation fees** as permanent mechanism to ensure commitment of delegation members, but should remain low (in the order of 300 EUR, all included except accommodation)
- Reduce time dedicated to Country Reviews and create a uniform template
- Create specific guidelines to presentations, which should be high level, overview presentations with little technical content
- Each edition of the Summit should focus on more than one special subject on Microsystems
- Time should be allocated for a well prepared panel discussion on the special subjects
- 18th World Micromachine Summit will be hosted by Prof. Weileun Fang in Taiwan

Philippe Fischer, Chairman of MMS2010